Vermont DUI Attorneys
Michael Kainen Attorney
28 Farmvu Drive Suite 3
White River Junction, VT 05001
Phone: (802) 296-2100
5261 Main Street
Manchester Center, VT 05255
Phone: (802) 362-1505
131 Church Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone: (802) 860-6207
27 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone: (802) 863-1191
Robert P. Keiner Attorney
70 Court Street
Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone: (802) 388-4906
John St Francis Attorney At Law
7 Main St
Essex Junction, VT 05452
Phone: (802) 876-5030
Stephen L Klein
74 North Main Street
Rutland, VT 05701
Phone: (802) 775-0838
Weber Perra Munzing Krochmalny & Kiewel PC
86 Linden Street
Brattleboro, VT 05301
Phone: (802) 257-7161
Getting a DUI in Vermont
What’s Considered DUI in Vermont? You are considered “under the influence” in the state of Vermont if you are caught with a minimum blood alcohol content of .08%.
Potential Jail Time: Although you can be sent to jail for some time but in Vermont there is no minimum mandatory time to be spent in custody.
Other Charges: You are charged a fee of $60 which is victim’s restitution fund. It funds the health department’s laboratory. Another $50 each is charged as service special fund which is used to fund public defenders specials fund and drunken driving law enforcement.
Suspension Of Drivers License: If caught with DUI for the first time there is a minimum suspension of 90 days of your license. Both the administrative authorities and the court can suspend your license. Also you have to pay a reinstatement fee of $30 and a $50 charge for the counter measures for driving under the influence.
Courses: $300 dollars need to be paid for the alcohol and driver education for the first time offenders. You may be subjected to further treatment if seemed necessary in the out-take interview following the course.
Treatment For Offenders: If you refuse the breath, blood or chemical test or are charged and convicted with DUI then you must complete the alcohol and driver education program. And before your license can be reinstated you need to give an alcohol assessment. Completing this program is necessary and failing will lead to court taking further actions.
Drivers Under 21: Penalties for people under 21 are same as those of adults. But in this case you are considered DUI if your BAC test shows any quantity of alcohol in your system.
Who Are Considered First Time Offenders? In Vermont anyone who has been convicted of DUI before seizes to be a first time offender whether it was decades ago or in another state. And if you are not a first time offender then there are more severe penalties than the first time offenders.
Automobile Insurance: Being convicted of DUI increases your insurance rate significantly. Your family’s insurance rate might also be increased. In some cases the insurance company drop their clients involved in DUI.
More Severe Penalties: If you are DUI and are involved in some kind of accident leading to a death or serious injury then you may be charged with felony. It is the worst case scenario and have much serious penalties.
If you have been caught driving under the influence in Vermont then you need to find a DUI lawyer soon. These lawyers presented on this page specialize in DUI cases and are well aware of the laws regarding DUI in Vermont. But it is recommended to start finding a lawyer as soon as possible as time is pretty crucial and can make all the difference in such cases.
List of Police Departments in Vermont
Our List of Police Departments in Vermont page will provide you with the phone numbers, Facebook pages, and website addresses for many of the police departments in the State of Vermont.